top of page

...because ART matters!

We are the Greater New Braunfels Arts Council. Since 1980 we have been supporting and promoting the ARTS and ART EDUCATION in New Braunfels and Comal County. 

Today, we represent over 37 Art Organizations, including individual artists and family members--all Art Advocates.

We help those artists and art organizations who need guidance, assistance, and support. 

Please check out our Membership Page for more information about joining our amazingly fun and worthy organization. We always welcome the Art Lovers of our community because it keeps us strong!

HISTORY –  In 1979, interest in establishing a local arts council was promoted by Candy Lapaglia (Carpenter) and Barbara Way, both involved and supportive of the arts in our community. In 1980 Elizabeth Elliott called together the small group of persons from different arts and cultural organizations to form an arts council. Present were Candy Lapaglia, Barbara Way, Edward Dedeke, Betty Stratemann, Stephany Goodbread and Elizabeth Elliott. At that meeting, it was decided that if the community were to have an arts council, the members of the arts community should design, implement, and control its destiny.

Edward Dedeke drafted the Articles of Confederation, and the six persons named above became the Greater New Braunfels Arts Council’s initial board of directors. The Articles were notarized May 9, 1980. On May 19, 1980, Elizabeth Elliott delivered the Articles to the State capitol, and the State Charter was received on the same day.


THE STRUCTURE – The Council was designed to be an umbrella organization, a coalition of local arts and cultural organizations, each one to be represented on the board by a single representative. Additionally there may be as many as five directors at-large, elected from the general membership.


THE PURPOSE – The initial purpose was to encourage and develop local arts organizations and to unite the coalition’s efforts for strong political influence in assuring a healthy arts environment.


That purpose remains the same today.

GNBAC's Executive Committee Officers:

President: Felicia Miller

Vice President: Deborah Richman

Secretary: Bobby Tschoepe

Treasurer: Channe Felton / Candy Carpenter

Membership Chair: Marla Sievers

Communication Coordinator: Ralph Gill

group ladies2.png
bottom of page